Panel for the Ministry Inquiry into Land Use

This page is about the inquiry panel members

Panel members

Hon Hekia Parata - Chair, (Ngāti Porou, Ngāi Tahu)

Hon Hekia Parata – Chair, (Ngāti Porou and Ngāi Tahu) – is a former Member of Parliament, whose Ministerial experience spanned numerous portfolios, including Education, Energy and Resources, and ACC. She has substantial experience in the public sector and in engaging with Iwi and Māori interests. Her international OECD work reflects her capability. Hekia has deep connections to Tairāwhiti.

Matthew McCloy

Matthew McCloy is a director at Forest Engineering New Zealand Ltd. His background is in forestry engineering, including as a manager for Rayonier in Gisborne and consultancy work on the remediation of forestry sites and stream crossings in the eastern Bay of Plenty. He also has international experience in sustainable forestry practices (in Fiji, Australia, Sweden, Finland, and China).

Dave Brash

Dave Brash was National Recovery Manager for the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet, leading the Government recovery effort after the Kaikōura earthquake and then later the Whakatane floods. This involved coordinating across government agencies to deliver all aspects of the recovery for local communities. With over 30 years’ experience in governance and senior leadership roles in the public sector, including managing planning and investment at Waka Kotahi, he is currently consultant to public and private organisations on public policy solutions, strategic change and organisational reviews, and major investments programmes.