

Cabinet Economic Policy Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Adaptation Framework: Government Response and Next Steps

Portfolio Climate Change

On 18 December 2024, the Cabinet Economic Policy Committee:

Finance and Expenditure Committee (FEC) report

- 1 **noted** that on 1 October 2024, the FEC presented its report on the inquiry into climate adaptation to the House (the FEC report);
- 2 **approved** the proposed Government response to the FEC report (the FEC Government response), attached as Appendix 2 under ECO-24-SUB-0309;
- **authorised** the Minister of Climate Change to make minor editorial changes to the FEC Government response, in line with the direction agreed to by Cabinet and in consultation with the Prime Minister's office and relevant Ministers where required;
- 4 **invited** the Minister of Climate Change to present the FEC Government response to the House in accordance with Standing Order 256 and publish it by 16 January 2025;

Adaptation framework design

- 5 **noted** that the Minister of Climate Change will work with the Minister of Finance to develop the adaptation framework based on the following four workstreams previously agreed by Cabinet:
 - 5.1 principles for investment in risk response;
 - 5.2 principles for cost-sharing pre- and post-event;
 - 5.3 roles and responsibilities;
 - 5.4 risk and response information sharing;

[ECO-24-MIN-0058]

- 6 **noted** that the Minister of Climate Change will develop the adaptation framework based on the following objectives previously agreed in principle by Cabinet, subject to the FEC recommendations:
 - 6.1 minimise expected long-term costs;
 - 6.2 ensure responses and funding support to property owners, if any, are predictable, principled, and rules-based wherever possible (ie, not decided after each event);
 - 6.3 improve climate risk and response information flows;
 - 6.4 address market failures and support market efficiency;
 - 6.5 people have the incentive and ability to manage risk;

[ECO-24-MIN-0058]

- 7 **noted** that the Minister of Climate Change will seek input from the Minister for Infrastructure, Minister Responsible for RMA Reform, Minister of Local Government and Minister for Emergency Management and Recovery, and other Ministers as necessary;
- 8 **noted** the overview of related cross-government work programmes which can also help to achieve the above objectives, attached at Appendix 3 under ECO-24-SUB-0309;
- 9 **noted** that the Minister of Climate Change intends to seek final policy decisions on the legislative elements of the adaptation framework and approval to introduce legislation required to support the framework in 2025;

The Climate Change Commission's report on the National Adaptation Plan

- 10 **noted** that on 16 August 2024, the Minister of Climate Change tabled the Climate Change Commission's 2024 progress report on the National Adaptation Plan (NAP) in the House;
- 11 **approved** the proposed Government response to the Climate Change Commission's 2024 progress report on the NAP (the NAP Government Response), attached at Appendix 5 under ECO-24-SUB-0309;
- 12 **authorised** the Minister of Climate Change to make minor editorial changes to the NAP Government response, in line with the direction agreed to by Cabinet and in consultation with the Prime Minister's office and relevant Ministers where required;
- 13 **invited** the Minister of Climate Change to present the NAP Government response to the House in accordance with section 5ZV of the Climate Change Response Act 2002 and publish it by 2 February 2025.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present: (see over)

IN CONFIDENCE

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon David Seymour Hon Nicola Willis (Chair) Hon Shane Jones Hon Brooke van Velden Hon Chris Bishop Hon Simeon Brown Hon Erica Stanford Hon Louise Upston Hon Judith Collins KC Hon Todd McClay Hon Tama Potaka Hon Matt Doocey Hon Simon Watts Hon Melissa Lee Hon Penny Simmonds Hon Chris Penk Hon Nicola Grigg Hon Andrew Bayly Hon Andrew Hoggard Hon Mark Patterson

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of Hon Chris Bishop Office of Hon Erica Stanford Office of Hon Simon Watts Officials Committee for ECO

3