From:	Ella Bambrough-Copeland on behalf of James Palmer
To:	All MfE Staff
Subject:	[STAFF IN-CONFIDENCE]FW: Formation of Government
Date:	Friday, 24 November 2023 3:42:43 pm
Attachments:	NZFirst Agreement 2.pdf
	image002.png
	image003.png
	image004.png
	image005.png
	image006.png
	National ACT Agreement.pdf

Please note correction to the spelling of Minister Penny Simmonds name, and the addition of Shane Jones as Minister for Oceans and Fisheries.

From: Ella Bambrough-Copeland On Behalf Of James Palmer
Sent: Friday, November 24, 2023 2:35 PM
To: All MfE Staff <AllMfEStaff@mfe.govt.nz>
Subject: Formation of Government

Kia ora koutou

By now you've probably heard that the three government parties have signed coalition agreements outlining key government priorities and have announced ministerial appointments.

National leader Christopher Luxon will be sworn in as the new Prime Minister, along with the rest of the new Cabinet, at 11am on Monday. Winston Peters and David Seymour will split the role of Deputy Prime Minister, with Mr Peters holding it for the first half of the term, and Mr Seymour the second. This is the first time Aotearoa New Zealand has had a three-way coalition government, and the first time we've had two deputy Prime Ministers.

Today's announcements give us valuable information about the incoming government's priorities for the coming term which will impact on our work programme, as we expected and as is normal when a new government is formed. Following approval from the caretaker Prime Minister Hipkins, I have reached out to all our new Ministers today to congratulate them on their appointments, and offered to meet to provide more in-depth briefings as soon as they are ready. I will also share our Overview Briefing for Incoming Ministers with them later today.

As you know, we are as prepared as we could be for this moment. Teams have been working to develop comprehensive briefings for Ministers, and others have been planning and scoping work programmes based on National's 100-day plan. Once I've received more direction from Ministers, we'll further adapt this work and make plans for any commitments requiring immediate action this year, before resetting our overall business planning in early in 2024.

There is still a lot to digest and Te Pūrengi will get together later today to reflect further on what the coalition details mean for us. If you'd like to read more about the coalition agreements, they're attached. Headline agreements for early action from us include the commitment to repeal the NBA and SPA by Christmas, which had been well-heralded, and to amend the RMA to make it easier to consent new infrastructure including renewable energy. Some of our current work in freshwater, emissions trading and biodiversity is to be reviewed.

I want to acknowledge that this might feel challenging for those who have worked on some of the legislation which is to be repealed. We can all be proud of the work you did, and while incoming governments always mean our work changes, the quality of the work remains. I also understand that the extent of the change happening at MfE has the potential to feel a bit overwhelming. Please remember that the new set up on December 1 won't be perfect from the beginning. There will be a period of settling in before it all feels right, and leadership is here to support you during this time.

It is also worth remembering that when it comes to the move to our new business group and leadership structure, this was partly driven by the need for us to be more agile and adaptive so we can better manage big changes like this. We're in the best possible position to start work with the new government.

Finally, please look out for each other, and reach out to your manager or to EAP if you need any additional support, whenever you feel you need it. I commit to keeping you in the loop as much as possible as we go through these first days of building relationships with our new Ministers. Below, is a list of Ministers relevant to MfE.

Our ministers:

- Environment (outside cabinet) Penny Simmonds (National)
- Associate Andrew Hoggard (ACT)
- Climate Change (outside of cabinet) Simon Watts (National)
- Associate Nicola Willis (National)
- Housing, Infrastructure and RM reform Chris Bishop (National)
- Undersecretary for infrastructure and RM reform Simon Court (ACT)

Oceans and Fisheries - Shane Jones

In addition, David Seymour has been appointed to the role of Minister for Regulation.

Have a good and restful weekend.

Ngā mihi ki a koutou James

James Palmer

Secretary for the Environment | Te Tumu Whakarae mō te Taiao EA: Ella Bambrough-Copeland <u>Ella.Bambrough-Copeland@mfe.govt.nz</u> Ministry for the Environment | Manatū mō te Taiao James.Palmer@mfe.govt.nz |environment.govt.nz



