From: <u>Ella Bambrough-Copeland</u> on behalf of <u>James Palmer</u>

To: All Remote Staff; All RM and NABS managers; All Staff Auckland; All Staff Christchurch; All Staff Gisborne;

All Staff Wellington

Subject: [STAFF IN-CONFIDENCE]Confirming new leader appointments

Date: Friday, 17 November 2023 3:34:11 pm

Attachments: <u>image008.jpg</u>

image009.pnq image010.pnq image011.pnq image012.pnq image013.pnq image014.ipq

Kia ora koutou e te whānau

Earlier today I wrote to those senior leaders who participated in the Expressions of Interest process to advise them of the final appointments made to the Chief of Staff, General Manager, Programme Director and Chief Advisor roles. I'm pleased to be able to share these appointments with you now, along with confirmation of all other senior leadership roles.

As I said in my earlier email to this group, we are very fortunate to have such extremely talented leaders at MfE, and I have no doubt each of them will contribute in valuable and unique ways as we work together to meet the challenges ahead. You'll see there are still a few vacancies, and people on fixed terms or in acting roles. Please note specifically:

- Martin Workman and Laura Dixon are acting in Deputy Secretary positions while
 permanent placements in the Tūmatakōkiri (Māori Strategy and Performance) and
 Business Transformation & Services roles are confirmed. They have also been appointed
 to substantive roles as described below.
- Blandy Witehira has been appointed to the role of Pou Tikanga, and Simon Lambert to the role of Chief Science Advisor, Māori for the remainder of their fixed terms. These were not part of the EOI process, and permanent appointments will be made in due course.

I want to especially thank those who've filled leadership roles in an acting capacity who were not able to participate in this EOI process. You have provided vital leadership and support for your teams and for the rest of us, particularly through the past few months, which we could not have managed without. Thank you.

I appreciate that this time of uncertainty, both about our leadership, and the shape of our future work as the new government is formed, might still feel challenging. With our leadership confirmed, directors/general managers will soon follow up with more information about reporting lines, as we get ready to implement our new business groups on December 1. We'll provide other information as soon as we can.

From there, as I've said before, we'll get some direction from our new ministers about their priorities and be in a position to reset our work programme in the new year, building on work already underway to scope the first 100 days. I know you'll have lots of questions, and these leaders will do their best to answer these over the coming weeks.

I'm excited that we have the building blocks coming together for the next chapter in the Ministry's evolution that commences 1 December. For now, thanks for all your mahi this week and I hope you have a great weekend.

Office of the Chief Executive	
Chief of Staff	Martin Workman
Chief Advisor Public Affairs	Leah Haines
Chief Advisor Chief Advisor	Simon King
Pou Tikanga	Blandy Witehira
Business Transformation & Services	Diality Witelilla
General Manager – People & Capability	Laura Dixon
General Manager – Information Technology	Mike Porter
	Kirsty Millard
General Manager – Legal & Risk	Arun Patel
General Manager – Finance & Procurement General Manager – Transformation &	Pepi Batsos
Operations	Pepi Batsos
Chief Advisor	Aidan Meerman
Strategy, Stewardship & Performance	Aluan Meennan
General Manager - Evidence, Data & Insights	Magan Hurnard
General Manager – Planning & Performance	Megan Hurnard Kathleen Mackie
Programme Director – Establishment,	
Planning and Performance	Bridget Fraser
General Manager – Science & Data Systems	Clare Barton
General Manager – Strategy	Vacant
Chief Advisor	Jennifer Hutcheon
Chief Science Advisor	Alison Collins
Chief Science Advisor – Māori	Simon Lambert
Tümatakökiri (Māori Strategy and Performan	
GM Tūmatakōkiri (Māori Strategy and	Vacant
Performance)	
Environmental Management & Adaptation	
General Manager – Resource Management	Jo Gascoigne
System General Manager – Urban & Infrastructure Policy	Liz Moncrieff
General Manager – Natural Environment Policy	Hayden Johnston
General Manager – Adaptation	Katherine Wilson
General Manager – Te Tiriti & Te Ao Māori	Clare Maihi
Regional Lead – Auckland	Lesley Baddon
Chief Advisor – Māori Policy	Vacant
Chief Advisor	Bryan Smith
Chief Advisor	Kevin Guerin
Climate Change Mitigation & Resource Efficie	
General Manager – Markets	Melody Guy
General Manager – Waste Systems	Shaun Lewis
General Manager – Climate Change Mitigation	Hemi Smiler
General Manager – Waste & HSNO Policy	Glenn Wigley
Chief Advisor	Becky Prebble
Programme Director – Waste Investments	Michelle Kazor
Programme Director	Jon Ryan
Partnership, Investments & Enablement	
General Manager – Māori Partnerships & Regional Relationships	Eugene Berryman-Kamp
General Manager – Communications and Engagement	Chloe Groser
General Manager –System Enablement	Sara Clarke
General Manager – Partnerships and Investments	Lorena Stephen
Chief Advisor	Vacant
CITICI AUVISOI	vacant

Blue = fixed term and not part of the EOI

Green = positions not part of the EOI

James Palmer

Secretary for the Environment | Te Tumu Whakarae mō te Taiao

EA: Ella Bambrough-Copeland <u>Ella.Bambrough-Copeland@mfe.govt.nz</u>

Ministry for the Environment | Manatū mō te Taiao

<u>James.Palmer@mfe.govt.nz</u> | <u>environment.govt.nz</u>

